Skip to main content


Add Me To Your Mailing List
Shopping Cart
Background Image URL //


The Australian Anthropological Society is a member-based association committed to representing the profession of anthropology in Australia.

Founded in 1973, the goals of the Society are to advance anthropology as a professional discipline grounded in the systematic pursuit of knowledge, to promote its responsible and ethical application, and to promote professional training, knowledge sharing, and practice in anthropology. The Society recognises that anthropological work is broad in scope and includes academic research, teaching, consultancies, industry engagements, advocacy, activism and public commentary.

The Society seeks to advance anthropology through a range of activities, including organising the annual AAS conference, editing the Society’s flagship journal The Australian Journal of Anthropology (TAJA), sharing knowledge and disseminating information though the Monthly e-Bulletin, and promoting the work and activities of anthropologists through various communication and media channels (follow us on Twitter and Instagram). The multi-faceted goals of the Society have led to a vibrant and engaged community of anthropologists, including scholars, industry practitioners and students. Members of the Society currently include a substantial proportion of the practicing and student anthropologists in Australia, along with some members based overseas.

The support of student and early career anthropologists is a particular focus of the AAS, reflected in the annual theses and article prizes and especially in the Society’s ongoing support of the affiliated Australian Network of Student Anthropologists (ANSA). The Society supports the activities of its members through a range of initiatives, including grant and funding opportunities, providing access to AAS Forums, supporting thematic and collaborative networks, and offering discounted registration rates to the annual conference and TAJA subscriptions.


The AAS is an incorporated association and is bound by its Constitution, which outlines the Society’s structure and functions, especially concerning its membership, governance, meetings, and activities. An Executive Committee of seven elected members runs the Society, each performing different duties depending on the position held, and who work closely with and supervise the functions performed by the (part time) AAS Administrator.

The Executive Committee, along with the Administrator, the ANSA Chairperson and TAJA Editor meet formally four times a year, and provide reports to members for each Annual General Meeting.


The AAS is a member of the World Council of Anthropological Associations (WCAA) and the Council for the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (CHASS).

The Society acknowledges the ongoing support and assistance from the Australian National University School of Anthropology and Archaeology.